From its inception in June 1999 to the present hendon + huckestein architects, p.c. / h+ha has evolved into a highly regarded and well respected multi-disciplined design firm, providing architectural, planning and interior design expertise on work that ranges greatly in scale, complexity, and circumstance throughout the United States. With combined experience of over forty years, the firm's founders Erik N. Hendon, AIA, LEED AP + James M. Huckestein, AIA emphasize the fundamental principals of architectural and business practice, understanding the essentials of both in order to gain success. Our continued success lies in the firm's focus on providing the highest level of design and innovation through a profound understanding of our client's needs, budget and context.

Starting the practice in a small two room office in the historic Brown Marx Tower, h+ha's quick growth prompted the move in 2001 to the heart of downtown Birmingham to 20th St and Second Ave. N, providing easy access to our growing client base.

In 2005, hendon + huckestein architects established h+ha/IA. hendon + huckestein architects / Interior Architecture to provide a more comprehensive and concentrated focus on our growing interior architecture and design practice. With projects like the renovation of the historic Tutwiler Hotel, and modernarity of the Icon Restaurant in downtown Birmingham, our interiors expertise has grown greatly providing our clients with a high level of design sesibility and exceptional service.

In 2007 h+ha�s growth led to another office change, promting a move to 2126 Morris Avenue. Our current location is still in the heart of downtown Birmingham, and this office reaffirms our commitment to urban revitalization and restoration. The unique design of the office, a historic downtown building that started life as a grocers warehouse, reflects the firm's attitude towards architecture as a vehicle for creativity.

Hendon + Huckestein Architects, PC are licensed architects in:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas